CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Too Young
Monday, Mar. 27, 2006, 22:32

I met her when I was 12 years old. That was 25 years ago and she still kids me because I wore a dress to meet her mother for the first time. I never wore dresses because of my knobby knees, but that day was an exception. I remember saying "I want to make a good impression." She told me "Momma is going to love you no matter what you wear, she's just like that." And so she did, even more so than my own mother at times.
We have grown up together, struggled through puberty, shared teenage heartbreak, gotten drunk too many times to count, spent endless hours gossiping on the phone, celebrated true love, watched each other get married,endured divorce together, shared childbirth and survived the tumultuous teen age years of our own children......almost.
Today we buried her 16 year old daughter. There is no worse feeling in the world. Its not supposed to happen this way. We are not supposed to bury our children.
Its just not fair.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo