CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Its Almost Upon Us
Monday, Oct. 31, 2005, 10:09

I read something the other day that made reference to the Devil's Triangle of the holiday season. I usually try to be upbeat and optimistic but this really struck a chord with me......probably because I am once again going through the clean up process of another broken relationship. The Devil's Triangle refers to the three holidays of Christmas,New Years and Valentine's Day. These can be a nightmare or a blessing for the single folk depending on your point of view at the time. For me, it seems that I am always single at this time of year and that I am destined never to sip eggnog around the fire, kiss under the ball in Time's Square or share Godiva chocolate under the sheets on the most romantic day of the year with someone that I truly love and who loves me in return.
I have relationships, some great and some luke warm but they never seem to occur at the holiday season. Its as if karma has run over my dogma, so to speak for the months of December, January and February. To add further insult to injury, my birthday is in December so I get the added bonus of spending an additional potentially romantic and fabulous day, all alone. For once I want to be the girl who gets flowers for her birthday, gorgeous jewelry for Christmas, a passionate kiss in a romantic hideaway on New Years and a box of scrumptious chocolate for Valentine's Day. I want someone to share all this with and whom I can give many pleasures in return.
I know that sounds superficial and shallow but the real point of it all is that I want to be with someone who adores me and who wakes up in the morning wanting to make me smile. I want to be taken care of instead of being the one who is always trying to keep it together and to fix the magnitude of wrongs. I want to be happy as part of an "us". This is not to say that I am entirely focused on finding a mate for the holidays. I am happy for the most part with the way my life is going. I have my children, my friends and family and I am grateful for everyday that I have with them. It would just be nice to have a sweetheart that had some stick-to-it-ness.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo