CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Writer'sBlock
Saturday, Jan. 08, 2005, 12:04

I was chatting with my dear friend Ellery yesterday and I asked how his new book was coming along. He told me that it needed a little formatting and that he needed to write the author bio, introduction and the preface. That was it, it would then be ready for print. I asked if he had any ideas about the preface and said that I could help him write it if he wanted me to. He said "You write it...I'll send you the book." and just like that a file download box popped up on the screen telling me to hit accept.
I thought this should be easy enough as I skimmed through the pages in between chatting back and forth with El. Then it hit me, I don't have a clue as to how to write a preface, this was going to be harder that I expected. I put it aside and decided to wait until the inspiration hit me.

Last night around midnight sometime, rain pounding on my window awoke me and I decided to try to write the preface for El's book. I signed into my email account to pull up his old emails and found one that contained the poem "Tears Of God". I recalled that it was to be included in the new book, so I read it as I listened to the rain falling outside. Then it all clicked, I suddenly knew exactly what I wanted the world to know about Ellery R. Sheets and how I would describe what his writing and his friendship mean to me.
I only hope that I can do his talent justice and that he will like whatever it is that finally comes out on the page.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo