CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

I need a class in Internet Dating 101
Monday, Jan. 17, 2005, 20:43

It always begins the same way. I will get an email from a man saying that he really liked my picture, was impressed by my keywords, and would love to talk to me sometime. Then we will IM for a while and he tells me that I have a great sense of humor, I am smart, funny and cute and that he is dying to meet me. He tells me that he adores slim women, absolutely loves brown eyes and that everything about me is exactly what he has been looking for. Everything looks very promising, everything seems to be working and I seem to be doing the right thing. Then we meet, have a great time laughing and talking and all seems well until something happens. I am not exactly sure what I do wrong, but things usually end one of three ways. 1)He will decide that he wants to see me for fun and games, that he is not ready to commit to anything more than a sexual relationship with me. 2)He will decide that he is not good enough for me and wants to keep me as a platonic friend only or 3)He is head over heels for me and wants to marry me after one date,although this has only happened once.
What gives? Why is it so hard to find a man who wants all three things? A man who wants to be friends,commit to a monogamous relationship and eventually one day wed. I want a man who wants the same things that I do in a relationship, a man who can let his guard down and give love a chance, a real honest chance. The really sad thing is that I finally met someone that I could get excited about (and I thought he felt the same) a few months ago but he wants nothing to do with me now.
I have a few options which is nice because I haven't had a date since mid October. One guy says that he is enthralled by me (he seems really great as well) and wants to meet me this week, another has sent a few emails and I am debating whether to respond or not (I think I might. I just hope that I can figure out what I am doing wrong before the next relationship bombs.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo