CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

New business, same old story.
Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2004, 20:35

I have spent the majority of today getting my new business started. I have been on the computer designing business cards, fridge magnets and the such. I really want to be a success mainly for the extra income for my family, but more than that to show my mother up. She has never supported me in anything that I chose to do, that is not until I worked my butt off and became a success. Only then would she acknowledge my accomplishment and brag to her friends about how wonderful I was doing.

It was like that when I chose to go to college to become a Respiratory Therapist, "You were never good at math or science, maybe you should chose a major that you will be able to finish." she had said. Now,after five years of my working in a leading Children's Hospital, does she go on and on to everyone about her wonderful daughter the Respiratory Therapist.

She refused to help me get this venture off the ground saying "You won't be able to do this,you were never any good at selling anything. Noone will buy these clothes from you, not with the way the economy is today." Gee thanks Mom for the vote of confidence, you always were a great cheerleader for me.

Needless to say I was on my own, financially and emotionally. It took three weeks but I am ready to roll. I have the website set up,my sampleline should arrive any day, and I even have a few shows scheduled. I cannot wait to get busy.

CAbi

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo