CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Wipe Out
Friday, Feb. 25, 2005, 21:39

This last week has been a total wipe out. I started getting/feeling sick LAST Friday, having chest pains while I tried to happily work a 12 hour shift at the hospital. Saturday involved a raging inferno of a fever and the most interesting shade of green sputum that I had ever seen (being a Respiratory Therapist in a CHILDREN'S Hospital.....that says a lot). Sunday was the equivalent of more fever,more green stuff and no sleep. Monday necessitated a trip to the doctor which concluded with a diagnosis of pneumonia, a shot in the butt and huge yellow horse pills that will haunt me for the next ten days. Tuesday,I finally gave up the fight and called in sick to work. The only reason for my doing so was so that maybe I could somehow save enough strength to complete my FAA credentialing on Wednesday at,you guessed it,the hospital. I went to the class, proved that I could gracefully climb out of a helicopter window and escape the burning wreckage of a crash without breaking my neck or getting my head chopped off by the rotors in less than 13 seconds (WHOO HOO!). As if all that wasn't enough,I insisted on working my regular shifts yesterday and today. Am I seriously trying to kill myself you may ask, and of course I would be the first to say no. I have always held the notion that if I can walk semi upright,then I can work......maybe its the Single Mother Survival Instinct kicking in or maybe it is just my invincible Super Hero powers. Whatever the case, I now feel like crap and I have decided that I am going to bed for the next four days. See ya after the hibernation.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo