CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Word Of The Day
Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2004, 08:24

ennui ahn-WEE (noun) - A feeling of weariness and dissatisfaction; boredom.

I came across this word today and it seemed a bit prophetic to me, in a sense a clue or forecast of things to come. It is no big secret that I am single and searching, looking under every rock for the perfect match. But lately I have become weary and dissatisfied with the whole idea of meeting another new person. When I think of the time and work involved with getting to know someone, I can only sigh with ennui.

I have always liked this word. I recall hearing it for the first time in the movie "The Crying Game" and it sort of stuck with me. Funny how a word, nothing more than letters strategically placed to form a certain sound, can "stick" in your mind, so to speak. It has the ability to jump off a page and slap you in the forehead or to have a certain ring to it. You can identify with words, one syllable or phrase can sum up your entire being or create who you think you are. Words can build barriers or tear down walls. Such power in so simple a thing. It makes you wonder why people take the importance of their words so lightly and often do not think before they speak. It baffles the mind actually.

So class, todays lesson is to choose your words carefully. Think before you speak and if you are unable to do this, you might ought to invest in a pair of mint flavored shoes.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo