CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Quirky Alone
Thursday, Mar. 18, 2004, 23:12

I think that I have figured it out. The answers to all of my questions about love, romance and the ever present, what is wrong with me. I stumbled across the Quirkyalone
website and scored a 95 on the quiz.

Shazzam! Thats it, I fit into their description almost perfectly. They are a group that Utne Reader calls "a brave breed to resist the tyranny of coupledom in favor of independent self-expression."

I always thought that I needed and wanted a mate, but could never seem to find the one, or manage to have the one stick around for very long. Now I realize that I must be putting off these quirkyalone vibes that men pick up on their radar. For example, these traits apply to me

1. Display a talent for self-reflection

2. Believe that life can be prosperous and great with or without a mate

3. Create and maintain chosen families of friends

4. Would rather be alone than be in a relationship in which you have to hold back an essential part of yourself

5. Have had a taste or a glimpse of a great love relationship (or encounter), which intensifies the desire to remain open to the possibility of finding a similar experience.

The website states

"For the quirkyalone, there is no patience for dating just for the sake of not being alone. We want a miracle. Out of millions, we have to find the one who will understand."

"Better to be untethered and open to possibility: living for the exhilaration of meeting someone new, of not knowing what the night will bring. We quirkyalones seek momentous meetings."

"Quirkyalones have vibrators."

"By the same token, being alone is understood as a wellspring of feeling and experience. There is a bittersweet fondness for silence. All those nights alone�they bring insight."

Sounds about right, but I will have to do a little more research to assure that I fit the mold. Although it would feel good to finally understand why I am alone (without a significant other) more times than not.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo