CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Second Dates and Flying In The Rain.
Monday, Feb. 14, 2005, 08:06

Date # 2 was wonderful. We met for dinner and had the same casual, easy going conversation as the last time. There were just as many laughs as before, with a few added in along the way. I sometimes can't believe how at ease I feel with him. I can completely be myself and not worry as to whether he will like me or not. I don't have the need for him to like me. I don't seem to be as concerned with the outcome of this relationship as I am with the development of it......ahhhhh maturity *wink, wink!
He told me that he had another "first date" the Friday before and that there would not be a second one. He said "Have you ever been with someone who constantly asks you what you are thinking?" I replied "I know what you mean, I sometimes do that." Oh no, did I just say that out loud? I could not believe that I admitted that to him. I remember a time and how I felt when I desperately wanted the guy to like me. I sat there thinking about him and hoped beyond all reason that he was thinking just as much about me, so I would ask "What are you thinking?", yearning for him to say that he was thinking about me and only me. I told 'New Guy' that when a woman asks what you are thinking she is searching for a compliment, such as "I was just thinking how wonderful you smell." or "I was just thinking how beautiful you are tonight."
At the end of dinner while we were sharing cheesecake, he grew a little quiet and I asked "What are you thinking?". He looked at me, smiled, stuck his tongue out and replied "I was thinking how good you smell tonight. Thats a different scent than you were wearing the last time." "Good answer." I grinned.


************************************
Something interesting and sweet happened to me yesterday. First some background info: A while back, we flew without our usual flight team. There was one guy that I had never seen before and he was really sweet and cute. He was very helpful with pushing the enormous carrier and lifting our packs. He even helped push the carrier back to our unit on our arrival with the baby, which is something that the other guys NEVER do. His name was Robert. A few days after that a friend of mine told me that he had been asking her husband, whom he flys with, about me because he thought I was cute too. Soooooooo......
I was working yesterday and we had to fly to Tullahoma to pick up a sick baby to bring back to our hospital. When we arrived back home the other team was there with our second helicopter. Jenna and I carried our packs around the front of the chopper and set them down to unload the carrier onto the stretcher. I noticed the other team on the other side of the tarmac, but couldn't really see who it was. We got the carrier out and I saw Robert picking up our packs to load them onto the stretcher. He had walked all the way across the tarmac to do that for us, when the guys we had flown with were helping with the carrier. I smiled when I realized it was him and said "Hey there." and told him thanks. As we were going back down the ramp into the hospital, I noticed his chopper starting up and they were ready to head out. He had made a special effort to help us before he left. *huge grin. That left me with a warm, fuzzy feeling and then I realized that I looked like a drowned rat after getting caught in the rain and wearing that flight helmet. Jenna grinned and said "I think he understands what helmet hair looks like." Indeed.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo