CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Financial advising and little black cars.
Saturday, Feb. 05, 2005, 11:03

I met my date at the mall for an early dinner and shopping. All I knew about him was that he is a financial advisor, has been married once (for nearly twenty years), divorced two years, two children and he drives what he called "a little black car".
I knew immediately that I was going to like him the minute I saw him because......we were dressed exactly alike. Winter white turtleneck sweater, nice jeans, brown suede jacket and brown shoes. It really was quite funny because we had matching expressions as well when we saw what we had done. We couldn't have matched better if we had tried. We ate, made small talk and laughed. We talked about how people often misrepresent themselves before meeting in person and he jokingly handed me his business card and said "So you will know that I'm really who I say I am." I glanced at it briefly and tucked it into my purse. When he went to the restroom, I dug it out to inspect it more closely. It turns out that he was not just any financial advisor, he is the Vice President of the Southern division of the company. They have offices in Knoxville, Chattanooga and Nashville. Now, I was beginning to get a little nervous.
After dinner we shopped around the mall and then he suggested that we go for ice cream. Surprise number two.....the "little black car" that he told me he had turned out to be a new Mercedes Benz. The great thing about him is that he is not at all flashy or boastful. He is completely down to earth and any insecurities that I had about not being good enough for him were purely all in my own mind.
We did have a great time and have plans to go out again next week. I'll keep you posted.

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo