CURRENT * ARCHIVES * PROFILE * CAST * QUIZZES
EMAIL * GUESTBOOK * NOTES * HOME * DESIGN *

Ego Boost
Saturday, Jan. 17, 2004, 11:16

My best friend and I have been trying to mend fences and patch broken spirits. We have talked somewhat and decided to go out last night, for old times sake. I truly love her and we have a blast together, but I really had my doubts as to whether it would truly be like old times. We went out to eat, had a few drinks and then decided to go "clubbing". Imagine what a foreign concept this is for two gals in their mid thirties. We arrived at the club and instantly realized that we were over dressed, and by that I mean that we had too much clothing on. We obviously were not showing enough skin. This should be really interesting I thought, as I quickly assessed that we were out of our element. Even in our twenty's, we would not have fit in with this crowd. We hung out for a while, watching the assorted dancers shake their "jelly rolls" as my friend called it, commenting on how some people should not appear in public in bare midriffs and mini skirts.

It seemed pretty hopeless until this real cutie asked me to dance. We hit the dance floor and had a blast the rest of the night.

I had stressed about going out with her, especially after the New Years Eve fiasco. It was mostly because of my low self esteem. I am tall and thin, a stick girl while "T" is short and curvy, with the right amount of assets, in my opinion. I honestly felt that if you paired the two of us together, the guys would naturally notice her. But last night, that was not the case. In fact the guy that was chatting her up was asking about ME. He told her that the guy that I was dancing with was not my type, that I was more elegant than that and deserved to be treated as such. I was even told several times that I was hot. Talk about an ego boost, it was exactly what I needed.

The club closed at 3 and we were treated to breakfast at IHOP, by a very nice, older gentleman who definitely expressed an interest in me. He gave me his number and would like to see me again this evening.

Who knows, maybe I do still have it after all ;)

last - next

"The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved - loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves."
Victor Hugo